Trust

Rousseau the-sleeping-gypsy

Henri Rousseau, The Sleeping Gypsy (1897) Museum of Modern Art, New York

I dreamed a dream one night by the light of the moon.

I dreamed of trust in God,

of trusting more than I do,

of trusting that God will care for me

and God loves me with an never-ending love.

 

I dreamed a dream one night.

I dreamed of trust in God,

that God will provide for me

will give me enough water by day

and peace at night.

 

I dreamed a dream.

I dreamed of my pilgrimage with God

of trusting that God will lead me

to places of pasture

where music will feed my soul.

 

I dreamed.

I dreamed that my enemy

came about

seeking whom he may devour,

and that by trusting in God

to keep me safe

from all that would harm me

God kept his promise.

 

Dream, dear one, dream.

Dream of music and dance

dream of lions and deserts

dream of trust and conviction

Dream of the one who loves you

and will keep you safe.

Leave a Reply

