Perfection

Woman_Holding_a_Balance_(Vermeer)
Johannes Vermeer Dutch, 1632 – 1675 Woman Holding a Balance, c. 1664 oil on canvas, stretcher size: 42.5 x 38 cm (16 3/4 x 15 in.) painted surface: 39.7 x 35.5 cm (15 7/8 x 14 in.) National Gallery of Art, Washington Widener Collection

If I stand very still

it is as if I have perfect balance

If I let nothing disturb me

or infiltrate my life

it is as if I have perfect balance

If I push aside all wealth

or material things

and wish for nothing

it is as if I have perfect balance.

 

But it is only if the balance is empty

when it holds nothing

not money, not jewels, not things of this world,

not vanity even,

that the scales shiver into perfect symmetry,

into the perfect reflection of the Creator.

 

When your light shines upon me

I feel its warmth

and it is as if you have blessed me,

blessed my thoughts and prayers.

 

Today let me find balance in my life

let me find warmth in your loving kindness

and let me reflect that love

in all my contemplations.

 

Let me not be weighed down with

the things of this world.

Grant me serenity

and in the silence of my heart,

teach me your ways.

Leave a Reply

