Humility

Johann_Heinrich_Füssli_-_Silence_-_WGA08336

Johann Heinrich Fussli, Silence (1800), Kunsthaus, Zurich

Lord, I am not worthy that thou shoulds’t come under my roof

but speak the word only and my soul shall be healed.

 

Lord, I am not worthy.

Let me stay here awhile,

sit here at your feet

and let my soul be healed.

 

Lord, I am not worthy.

Let me submit to your will,

whatever it may be

and let my body be yours.

 

Lord, I am not worthy.

Let me appreciate the self I have received

not deny my gifts and talents

and let me live up to them.

 

Lord, I am not worthy.

Let me know your kindness and compassion

and mirror them in my life

and let my mind be at one with you.

 

Lord, I am not worthy.

But Lord, you make me worthy.

Help me to remember that

humility is not thinking less of yourself

it is thinking of yourself less.

 

Lord, make me worthy of your love

this day and always.

 

Leave a Reply

